Awarding our nursing staff

Awarding and celebrating our nurses is a very important aspect of the culture at The Christ Hospital Health Network. To that end, we have several awards that can be given to RNs honoring them for exceptional work, lifesaving treatment, or for being an outstanding employee. Below is a list of those awards and instructions on how to nominate a staff member. 

The Daisy Award

The Christ Hospital DAISY Awards program recognizes extraordinary nurses. DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System, and the DAISY Foundation was formed in January 2000 by the family of Patrick Barnes, who died at age 33 of complications from an immune disease. His family was so impressed by the nursing care he received during his illness that they were inspired to form the foundation. In addition to providing research and support to families of immune disease patients, the DAISY Foundation recognizes the super-human work of acute care nurses in hospitals around the country.

The Daisy winner receives:

  • A framed certificate proclaiming her/him an "Extraordinary Nurse" 

  • Special DAISY Award pin 

  • Hand-carved Shona sculpture entitled "The Healer's Touch" 

  • Cinnamon rolls for all nurses and staff in the recipients unit. 

Anyone may submit a nomination - including patients, their families, employees and physicians. 

The Larry Otto Patient-and Family-Centered Care Award

The Larry Otto Patient- and Family-Centered Care Award recognizes employees and physicians at The Christ Hospital Health Network who exemplify patient- and family-centered care (PFCC). The award is named in memory of Larry Otto, a founding member of the Patient- and Family-Advisory Council who was passionate about including family throughout the healthcare experience.

Anyone may submit a nomination - including patients, their families, employees and physicians. A selection committee of five non-employee members of the Patient and Family Advisory Council will review all nominations and select the winners.

Three awards will be presented during Hospital Week in May: one to a nurse, one to a licensed practitioner or physician and one to a non-nurse employee. 


  • Must be an employee or physician with The Christ Hospital Health Network for a minimum of 90 days

  • Must consistently provide high-quality patient care

  • Must consistently demonstrate the core concepts of PFCC:

  • Show Dignity and Respect by listening to and honoring patient and family perspectives and choices

  • Share Information with patients and families in a manner that is affirming and understandable

  • Consistently encourage Participation of patients and families while providing care and while making decisions regarding their care

  • Demonstrate Collaboration in working with patients and families as well as co-workers

  • Must be a proud employee or physician of The Christ Hospital Health Network

LifeSaver Award

The Lifesaver of the Month program recognizes employees who demonstrate Target Zero "Safety Above All" by making it a priority to deliver high-quality patient care in a safe environment.

Any employee, volunteer, student, physician, patient or family member may submit a nomination form for the Lifesaver of the Month (co-worker, management team).

  • In good standing with no corrective action, written warning or higher 

  • Positive attitude towards job responsibilities 

  • Is a team player 

  • Is a role model for others

Ryan Michelle Livingston Professional Award  

The Ryan Michelle Livingston Professional Award recognizes RNs throughout The Christ Hospital Health Network who exemplify the standards and quality of care that Ryan brought each day to her patients.

Ryan Michelle Livingston tragically lost her life in a motor vehicle crash in Sept. 2004. While she was only an RN for five years, Ryan was a role model as a true patient advocate, team member and competent, caring nurse. This award was established to honor her memory and the legacy she left behind. Any RN may nominate another RN. 

Nominee qualifications include:

  • Must be a registered nurse, minimum of three years 

  • Must always be in appropriate uniform and appear professional 

  • Must always act in a professional manner 

  • Must consistently provide high-quality patient care 

  • Must consistently strive to maintain high standards of care 

  • Must be a supportive team member 

  • Must be willing to learn new skills 

  • Must be willing to share knowledge/be a positive mentor 

  • Must demonstrate pursuit of excellence in practice

Please address the qualifications and cite specific examples of how the individual meets the defined criteria on the nomination form.

Spirit of Nursing Award

This award was created to recognize exemplary teamwork among our dedicated nursing staff. This award should be awarded to a nursing team, committee or unit of nurses who elevate the image of nursing. 

Nominators will be asked to provide one or more specific examples of the below as to why the nursing team being nominated qualifies for this award:

  • Service:  demonstrates excellence while working within the community to improve the health and lives of others.

  • Professionalism:  demonstrates excellence in the pursuit of nursing and elevates the image of nursing (e.g. professional advancement.)

  • Innovation:  demonstrates excellence by improving department efficiency, changing outcomes, boosting morale, improving hospital outcomes.

  • Role model:  goes above and beyond, is supportive to others, shows leadership skills and inspires others to be better.

  • Involvement:  is involved in their unit-based or house-wide committees/councils (e.g. task force or research committees, volunteers working together on a project.)

  • Teamwork: demonstrates collaboration with co-workers in their unit or through interdisciplinary means. This team works to help build positive relationships that are goal oriented.

The award will be presented quarterly with nomination submission deadlines of March 31, June 30, Sept. 30 and Dec. 31, annually. Nominations in the form of a professionally written essay may be submitted to Please be sure to include the names of the individuals who participated in the team being nominated. 

The S.M.I.L.E.S. Award

The S.M.I.L.E.S. Award recognizes employees of the Christ Hospital Health Network who model the behaviors that create exceptional patient and employee experiences and make us a regional leader in healthcare delivery. This award is given out each month.

Who can be nominated?

Any employee of The Christ Hospital Health Network who embodies the S.M.I.L.E.S. principle and is a visible, proactive champion of the patient and employee experience with patients and/or colleagues. 

Who can nominate?

Any employee, physician, patient or family member may nominate someone for the S.M.I.L.E.S. Award.

Nomination criteria: 

Creates exceptional impressions (smiles, eye contact, introducing themselves, listen to reach better understanding, exceed expectations at every opportunity by anticipating the needs of others, say thank you.) 

  • Exceptional performance and customer service 

  • Positive attitude towards job responsibilities 

  • Team player 

  • Role model for others here or in the community 

  • Employee must be in good standing

How are S.M.I.L.E.S. Award recipients selected?

The Patient Experience Steering Committee will review the nominations the first Wednesday of each month to determine if the nomination meets the above criteria. All nominations are treated confidentially until potentially selected as S.M.I.L.E.S. Award winners. 

When nominating an employee, please consider the following: 

  • Exceptional customer service 

  • Pride in his/her job 

  • Teamwork 

  • Exceptional job performance 

  • Exemplifies the Core Values

  • Positive attitude towards job responsibilities 

  • Welcoming 

  • Empathetic/Compassionate